Sat, 25 Sep 2021

Piolets d'Or 2020 awarding ceremony held in Poland

20 Sep 2020, 13:51 GMT+10

LADEK-ZDROJ, Poland, Sept. 19 (Xinhua) -- The awarding ceremony of the 2020 Piolets d'Or for four honored ascents was held during the 25th Ladek Mountain Festival here on Saturday.

The four ascents comprise two from Nepal and two from Pakistan, accomplished by Marek Holecek and Zdenek Hak from the Czech Republic, Alan Rousseau and Tino Villanueva from the United States, Mark Richey, Steve Swenson, Chris Wright and Graham Zimmerman from the United States, as well as Japanese alpinists Kazuya Hiraide and Kenro Nakajima.

The year 2019 turned out to be very rich for modern alpinism, with a substantial number of significant first ascents ranging from Asian countries like China, Nepal, Pakistan, to Europe's Norway and Peru in South America.

The purpose of the Piolets d'Or awards is to raise awareness about the year's greatest ascents across the world. They aim to celebrate the taste for adventure, the bravery and sense of exploration that lie behind the art of climbing in the world's great mountain ranges.

More South America News

Access More

Sign up for South America News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!